You asked: Who won the first college football playoff national championship?

Who has won national championships in college football?

152 Years

Year National Champion Heisman Trophy
2020 Alabama (AP, CFP) DeVonta Smith
2019 LSU (AP, CFP) Joe Burrow
2018 Clemson (AP, CFP) Kyler Murray
2017 Alabama (AP, CFP) Baker Mayfield

What is an unclaimed national title?

Unclaimed National Championships are teams that have been named a National Champion by the various polls and so forth throughout the history of college football but the school itself does not claim it in the schools record book.

Has Texas A&M ever won a national championship?

Texas A&M claims three national championships, and though the Aggies haven’t won it all since 1939, they have been a consistent winner. A&M won 18 conference championships (17 as a member of the Southwest Conference) including at least one in every decade from the 1910s to the 1990s.

What year did Arkansas go undefeated?

From 1894 to 1909, the team was known as the “Cardinals” and the school’s mascot was a redbird. The team’s name and mascot changed for the 1910 season after head coach Hugo Bezdek proclaimed the undefeated 1909 team played “like a wild band of razorback hogs.”


Season 1936*
Losses 3
Bowl result
AP Poll 18
IMPORTANT:  Can colleges see how many times you take the SAT?
Notes for students